The Seven Sorrows of Mary

as given to Saint Bridget of Sweden

Following an ancient tradition honored during October is this devotion to meditate on the seven sorrows of Mary who revealed to Saint Bridget seven blessings to anyone who would reflect on them and share with others.

1st Sorrow:  Simeon’s prophecy that a sword will pierce Mary’s soul

2nd Sorrow:  The flight into Egypt

3rd Sorrow:  The loss of the child Jesus in the temple of Jerusalem

4th Sorrow:  The meeting of Jesus and Mary on the Way of the Cross.

5th Sorrow:  Mary witnesses the crucifixion and death of Jesus on the cross.

6th Sorrow:  The dead body of Jesus is taken down and laid in the arms of his Mother.

7th Sorrow:  The burial of Jesus with Mary’s tears and loneliness

When meditating on these seven sorrows, seven graces are given by Mary:

I will grant peace to your families

They will be enlightened about the Divine Mysteries

I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work

I will give them as much as they ask for; as long as it does not oppose the Adorable Will of my Divine Son or the sanctification of their souls

I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives

I will visibly help them at the moment of their death; they will see the face of their mother

I have obtained these graces from my Divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and sorrows, will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness, since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son and I will be their eternal consolation and joy

Prayer:  Mary, your heart suffered so much.  By the merits of your seven sorrows, obtain for me your seven graces, Amen.

“More than ever, the world needs the Seven Sorrows Rosary.”

–Visionary Marie Claire of Kibeho, Rwanda

May this special devotion bless you and your family