A PURE ACT OF CHARITY


A Bing Image

“Only in eternity shall we see the beauty of the soul, and only then shall we realize what great things were accomplished in interior suffering.”

–Mother Angelica

Yesterday we celebrated the Saints.  Today we have the honor of praying for the departed souls who long to see God.

Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska mentions these holy souls in her diary #20:

One night my guardian angel ordered me to follow him.  In a moment I was in a misty place full of fire in which there was a great crowd of suffering souls.  They were praying fervently, but to no avail, for themselves.  Their greatest torment was longing for God.  I saw Mary Queen of Carmel.  She brings them refreshment.  My guardian angel beckoned me to leave.  Since that time, I am in closer communion with the suffering souls.”

This account reflects a mystery of God’s Plan for all souls.  The prayers of living souls are needed for the departed souls to be released before the throne of the Father, and when they are thusly graced, they will pray for us when we depart this earth…A pure act of neighborly love and charity.

O Lord, dispense your mercy that the souls of the faithful departed rest in peace, Amen.